On Being in a Veg Relationship

The goal of our new blog “Sorta Vegetarian: For Vegetarians and Their Meat Eaters/For Meat Eaters and Their Vegetarians” is to post cool new recipes that work for both the meat eaters and vegetarians in relationships. We’ll also have discussions, hopefully humorous ones, about the trials of living with someone who eats differently from you.

I’m Chapel and I eat meat, my boyfriend is Jason, a vegan since 2001. When we first met I had heard the word “vegan” but had no idea what it meant or how it was different from “regular vegetarians.” I’ve come a long way since then and now I consider myself to be about 75% vegetarian. I still crave a good steak or burger now and then, and when I do I just give in. Maybe I’m just a really really terrible vegetarian. But Jason does most of our cooking so I eat vegan a lot of the time.  I’ve learned a lot about how to make my favorite things vegan, but it’s a pretty tricky gig.

For those of you who are in the boat I was four and a half years ago here are a few basics. Vegans are vegetarians who do not eat or use any products produced by animals. No dairy, no cheese, no eggs, no honey (also no leather, wool, or silk). Basically being vegan or knowing a vegan means spending a lot of time staring at the ingredients lists printed on the packaging of the food you want to buy. Tricky ingredients that you have to watch out for are “whey,” “milk protein,” and other cheap dairy derived products that sneak in to lots of foods. But you also have to watch for things like honey that many of us would probably not think twice about.

So I hope you’ll read our new blog, we’re excited about writing it, but I think it will be fun to read as well!

Leave a Reply

